Saga of a Pale Girl: The Quest for a Great Bronzer

You may have noticed I am fair of skin. ;p I suppose it comes with the natural redhead territory. However, I still love a nice bronzer! I’m not trying to look tan- just I like to warm up my complexion some days. I really prefer bronzing over contouring on the whole also. I have two large problems with 90% of bronzers: they are too orange for my complexion and GLITTER! I can accept some shimmer with a bronzer- lends a healthy glow with the warmth- but too many are just chocked with glitter or so shimmery they might as well be a tan eyeshadow. So, I am ALWAYS on the hunt for the next great bronzer. I’ve curated a collection five at this point and thought with Summer knocking on the door it’d be fun to share them!

*I apply my bronzer in a bit of a lazy contouring style- along my hairline blending it down onto my forehead some, stroke down my temples, and swipe high under my cheekbones. I’ve tried applying to my jawline, but it never looks right!

Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Matte Bronzer in Milk Chocolate, Ulta $30

This blog will mark my first high end beauty review- just one item though. ๐Ÿ™‚ It was part of my anniversary Ulta haul! A YouTuber I watch, RachhLoves, had specifically recommendedย  Too Faced Chocolate Soleil in Milk Chocolate for us pale people. It’s $30 price tag made it a very special occasion purchase! Iย now compare all other bronzers to this chocolate masterpiece! It is in a beautiful cool tones and a silky matte finish. That’s my boxes checked! While it has plenty of pigment it isn’t dangerously pigmented where you have to be super careful in loading your brush. It beautifully deepens my complexion with aย light cocoa powder scent. I WISH I could use it every day, but my wallet holds me back! ๐Ÿ™‚

too faced bronzer swatch

NYX Professional Makeup Matte Body Bronzer in Light, CVS $8.99


First, I have no idea why it’s labeled “body bronzer” because none of the packaging calls it that?? This is my most recent find and it’s becoming my daily go-to. It looks fairly orange in the pan, but on the skin it reads much more tan and it’s perfectly matte. Like the Too Faced bronzer it is well pigmented, but not enough to get yourself into trouble with.

nyx bronzer swatch

Wet n Wild ColorIcon Bronzer SPF 15 in Ticket to Brazil and Reserve Your Cabana, $3.99

wnw coloricon bronzer pairBy the worn packaging you might be able to tell this is my original bronzer. It’s a bit too orange and a little bit of acceptable shimmer. I have recently purchased Reserve Your Cabana and found buffing it into Ticket to Brazil gives me a perfect color. I don’t mind the extra step personally. It’s smooth and goes on silky. It’s well pigmented so a light hand is needed. I found these hard to source consistently. It seems like every store stock a different combination of the three shades. I just had to keep my eyes peeled until I found these in stock. But, for the price? It’s worth the work! If your really jazzed by a particular shade I would suggest ordering them online directly.

wnw bronzer swatches

elf Blush & Bronzer Duo in St. Lucias, $6.00

This is a bit of a wild card choice. I use this on days I’m not looking for a full face of makeup, but still want a little glow. It kind of breaks all the rules of things I look for in a standard bronzer. It has a shimmery glow to it and the blush is packed with chunky gold glitter. Somehow it comes out looking just fine IF it is all I used over a tinted moisturizer. It’s crazy!

elf st lucia swatch

Wet n Wild MegaGLo Contour Palette in Dulce de Leche
wnw contour palette

As the name implies, this isn’t a bronzer. But, using it as a light contour I love the effect I get. It has zero glitter or shimmer and it’s super pigmented. I apply with a Wet n Wild’s contour brush- a slender angle brush- under my cheekbones, temples, and up around my hairline with a light hand. At times I even use this with a bronzer, but just under my cheeks for a great look.

 

I have found one totally epic fail! elf Bronzer in Golden- not the Bronzer Palette- was really hyped in an article aimed at pale complexion people. I was so excited when I found it at my local CVS and it looked so perfect in pan! Putting it on it turned into a glitter bomb! It did say it has SHIMMER to it- but this was straight up glitter. So, THAT when back to the store!

 

Don’t forget the sunscreen with all that sun worshipping!

 

virtual hugthanks-for-reading

 

Leave a Reply

