Skincare First Impression: Deceim’s The Ordinary

ordinary pledgeMy New Year’s resolution was to get serious about skincare. Wow! It is hard to find cruelty free high quality skincare on a sensible budget! Here’s another time my YouTube addiction paid off! 😉 Several YouTubers I watch mentioned a brand- The Ordinary. They are straightforward, cruelty free, mostly vegan, and on average cheaper than drugstore products! After watching every video I could find and reading all The Ordinary’s literature, I picked out five products and made a purchase through Beautylish. (I recommend using Beautylish over ordering from their parent company Deciem at this time. You’ll get more in stock and faster delivery. They have adorable packaging too!)

My skincare concerns are moderate acne, uneven complexion, and dry skin. These photos are from Beautylish’s website. Since I have not used the products long enough to give a true review, my reviews are simply my skin’s first impression.

IMG_8261

Gycolic Acid 7%– This toner softens the skin, brightens the complexion, and lightens discoloration. I only started using this three days ago and I was very happy to find it makes my skin silky smooth every morning. I had some concerns how my skin would react to it’s first chemical defoliant, but I’ve seen -or felt- no negative effects. This is similar to Pixie’s Glow Tonic except this is over twice the product for nearly half the price and 2% stronger in composition.

“What It Is

Glycolic Acid 7% Toning Solution is a water-based toner with glycolic acid and botanical extracts.

What It Does

This treatment gently exfoliates the skin to restore a clear, radiant appearance. It improves the look of uneven tone and texture with regular use.

Key Ingredients
  • Glycolic acid: an alpha hydroxy acid that exfoliates the surface of the skin
  • Tasmanian Pepperberry: a botanical extract that reduces the irritation associated with acid use
  • Aloe Vera and ginseng: botanical extracts with soothing and radiance-boosting benefits
How to Use

At night after cleansing, saturate a cotton pad and sweep it across your face and neck. Avoid your eye area. This product should not be used on sensitive, peeling, or compromised skin.

Alpha hydroxy acids may increase your skin’s sensitivity to the sun. Use sunscreen, wear protective clothing, and limit sun exposure while using this product.

Other Details
  • Size: 240 ml
  • Cruelty-free
  • Vegan
  • Oil-free
  • Silicone-free”

IMG_8263Salicylic Acid 2% Solution $4.90– SA is really the silver bullet in any of my acne routines. While most 2% solution products dry my skin this one doesn’t. Any acne I do get calms down quickly.

“What It Is

Salicylic Acid 2% Solution is a water-based exfoliating serum with salicylic acid.

What It Does

This treatment exfoliates deep inside the walls of pores to fight acne, oily skin, and blemishes. It promotes smoother skin texture and visible clarity with regular use.

Key Ingredients
  • Salicylic acid: a beta hydroxy acid that sheds built-up dead skin to unclog pores and clear congestion. It also has soothing and anti-inflammatory properties.
How to Use

Apply a small amount all over your face or directly to blemishes as a spot treatment. Use in the morning and at night before oils, moisturizers, and creams. This product should not be used on sensitive, peeling, or compromised skin.

Beta hydroxy acids may increase your skin’s sensitivity to the sun. Use sunscreen, wear protective clothing, and limit sun exposure while using this product.

Other Details
  • Size: 15 ml
  • Cruelty-free”

IMG_8266Hyaluronic Acid 2% + B5 $6.80– HA is know for drawing and maintain moisture into the skin. I’m up for that! You just have to be sure to use a good moisturizer to give the solution to pull from especially if you live in a dry climate. I add two drops directly to my moisturizer and pat it into my skin. I can’t tell you for sure if it’s helping, but my skin has be softer lately.

“What It Is

Hyaluronic Acid 2% + B5 is a water-based serum with hyaluronic acid and vitamin B5.

What It Does

This treatment hydrates the skin and creates a smooth, supple, and plumped-up appearance. It works by replenishing moisture in multiple layers of the skin.

Key Ingredients
  • Hyaluronic acid: a molecule that can attract up to 1000x its weight in water. This formula combines hyaluronic acid of various molecular weights with an advanced hyaluronic acid crosspolymer to hydrate multiple levels of the skin
  • Vitamin B5: also known as panthenol, this vitamin enhances surface hydration for a smooth, supple feel
How to Use

Apply a few drops to your face in the morning and at night before oils, moisturizers, and creams.

Other Details
  • Size: 30 ml
  • pH: 6.5-7.5
  • Cruelty-free
  • Vegan
  • Silicone-free”

IMG_8264100% Plant Derived Squalene $7.90– An “oil free face oil” great for dry, acne prone skin. Yay! I mix one healthy drop into my moisturizer (with HA) and it’s really helping the texture of my skin.

“What It Is

100% Plant-Derived Squalane is a lightweight, non-comedogenic oil that is found naturally in the skin.

What It Does

This treatment hydrates and restores a soft, supple texture to all skin types (including acne-prone). It prevents moisture loss with regular use. It can also be applied to hair to add shine and protect from damage.

Key Ingredients
  • Squalane: an emollient ingredient that is found naturally in the skin, making it an excellent hydrator for all skin types
How to Use

Apply a few drops to your face after toners and water-based products as needed.

Other Details
  • Size: 30 ml
  • Cruelty-free
  • Vegan
  • Silicone-free”

IMG_8262Azelaic Acid Suspension 10% $7.90- Good reducing the redness from rosacea and acne. I haven’t gotten into this AAS much, but when they couple times I used it was nice. I have some concerns that the suspension is in a large amount of dimethecones, but I can’t speak to that yet.

What It Is

Azelaic Acid Suspension 10% is a lightweight cream-gel with azelaic acid.

What It Does

This treatment brightens the skin, reduces the look of blemishes, and promotes an even tone and texture. It also fades hyperpigmentation and reduces the redness associated with rosacea.

Key Ingredients
  • Azelaic acid: an antioxidant that is naturally produced by yeast living on healthy skin. It has brightening, anti-bacterial, and anti-inflammatory effects.
How to Use

Apply a pea-sized amount to your skin at night after toners and water-based treatments. Avoid contact with your eyes and mouth. If irritation occurs, this product can be diluted to reduce its strength. We recommend wearing sun protection during the day when this product is part of your routine.

Other Details
  • Size: 30 ml
  • pH: 4-5
  • Cruelty-free
  • Vegan
  • Oil-free”

shea moisture argan oilShea Moisture’s 100% Pure Argan Oil ($8.99 Target)- I wanted to order The Ordinary’s cold pressed argan oil ($6.80), but it was out of stock. Their popularity is going through the roof! I have been reading about the benefits of facial oils and especially argan oil for combo and acne prone skin types. I am really loving it. It makes my face feel so nourished and soft without a heavy feel. I use it as a night moisturizer after I’ve used my glycolic acid. I do use it in place of my moisturizer on days I’m just want a streamlined routine.

From Beautylish’s website:

“What It Is

100% Organic Cold-Pressed Moroccan Argan Oil is a nutrient-rich oil for skin and hair.

What It Does

This multipurpose oil supports healthy, supple skin and reduces the appearance of flaking. It also adds strength and shine to hair.

Key Ingredients
  • Argan seed oil: a hydrating oil that is extracted without heat to preserve its rich nutrients, including fatty acids, vitamins, phenols, and carotenes
How to Use

Apply a few drops to your face as needed. We recommend applying it after water-based products, like serums and toners. Work through damp, clean hair daily or as needed.

Other Details
  • Size: 30 ml
  • Cruelty-free
  • Vegan”

I swap my nightly skincare routine every other day while my morning routine is pretty much stable. My first step either time is to wash my face and exfoliate using a AOA scrubby facial cleansing pad :

MORNING-

I try to keep my mornings simple because my chronic pain complicates my mornings enough already. Normally, I rub a few drops of salicylic acid into my t-zone and mix two drops of hyaluronic acid and squalene into my moisturizer then apply to my face and neck. If I want a super simple morning I just use SA and pat a drop of argan oil- warmed in my palms- into my skin. I follow the same routine on nights I’m not up to much else also. My skin always feels so fresh and soft! I almost forgot SUNSCREEN! Every day! Right after my moisturizer.

NIGHT A- Glycolic night
gylcolic nightI put a little glycolic acid toner on a cotton round and sweep all over my face. I follow up with salicylic acid on my t-zone (not the BEST idea, but I have not experienced any reactions.) I follow up by adding either squalene or argan oil to my moisturizer depending on how much hydration my face could use.

NIGHT B- Azelaic Acid Night
azelaic acid night
Once again, salicylic acid on my t-zone and doctored moisturizer with hyaluronic acid and squalene. I end off with a very thin layer of the azelaic acid.

It all might seem a lot, but I find my routine enjoyable. I love taking a little time to care for myself. I especially love scrubbing off the day at night and switching into shut down mode.

I’ll keep you up to date as I learn how The Ordinary stacks up!

virtual hug

One comment

Leave a Reply

