Pinterest DIY: Gentle Foaming Face Wash

For no particular reason other than spontaneity and boredom I decided I needed to DIY myself some face wash! I wanted a face wash that would remove makeup without drying my face or irritating my acne. After combing through a few different “recipes”, I’ve combined two that would factor in my personal skin concerns. But, I’ll give you customization tips for YOUR skin too! I’ve been using this as a makeup remover wash

The backbone of most of my cleansing based DIYs is Dr Bonner’s, a vegetable based Castile soap, because of its amazing versatility. You can make anything from laundry soap to floor cleaner to human (or dog!) shampoo to this face wash! It comes in lots of varieties, but I use the Unscented Baby type. I paid about $13 for a 32 oz bottle on sale at Target and it should last me at over a year. Check out all your options with Bronner-based products.

I took bits from few Pinterest articles ( here and here!) collecting the best ingredients in both. Dr Bronner’s is a very gentle cleansing soap with low allergens. Witch Hazel is a great astringent for toning the skin. Glycerin is a humectant that helps draw moisture into your skin as it helps with fluffy foam. Tea tree oil is antiviral and antibacterial with amazing acne fighting compounds. Argan oil helps keep the skin moist while treating acne breakouts. I will have customization ideas in the instructions.

You’re going to need a foaming soap pump. I know you can order them on Amazon, but I use a less green strategy. I snag a bottle from Dollar Tree or ALDI and empty out the soap. Sorry! It’s the truth! But, now that I have the bottles I can reuse them as needed.

 

face soap product closeup

Gentle Foaming Face Wash

  • 3 tablespoons liquid castile soap
  • 3 tablespoons witch hazel
  • 1 teaspoon vegetable glycerin
  • 1 teaspoon Argan oil
  • 10 drop tea tree oil

Mix together in foaming soap bottle and top off the bottle with distilled or filtered water. Shake and give it a couple pumps to prime it! *My bottle looks cloudy bc I dropped it! Opps!

If you have oily skin you can add more castle soap. Try adding a little more each day to find the balance. If you have dry skin you can increase the oil. Give almond or jojoba oil a try as well. Any oils your face enjoys should work. The essential oils are COMPLETELY up to your imagination and desires. I’m not up to speed on EO really so check out this link if you’re curious.

 This removes my makeup very easily and gets my face squeaky clean in just a few seconds. I will say my skin does “feel” dry -not to the touch- but in a few minutes everything has redistributed my skin feels soft to in the skin and to the touch. Next time, because I DO have sensitive skin that leans to the dryer side of combination skin, I’ll probably reduce the castle soap just a little bit. Tip: If you’re getting low foam pumps give the bottle a little shake to mix the ingredients. Early on occasionally the glycerin settles to the bottom and it’s crucial in big soapy suds!

Here’s the end result! I hope you enjoy!

face wash foam
I know it depends on your bottle, but this is two pumps! I always use two and every time I overwhelmed by suds! You think I would learn! lol
Leave a Reply

