Story Time: “The Tail of Buck- My Beautiful Boy”

Buck should be considered the mascot and guardian angel beagle of this whole project so I better “tail” ๐Ÿ˜‰ his story!

Buck and I met each other when we both we pretty low and dark chapters. He was a skinny one year old beagle mix captured living rough in the country after a bitter cold Spring. I was a girl with a broken heart looking for someone to love- a doggy. I had pretty specific requirements- smaller end of medium size of larger end of small sized, not a puppy, but not more than a couple years old. HOUSEBROKEN! (I was living with my parents.) My pickiness wasn’t a cold heart. It was an honest list of who I could care for. The day I went to the rescue- there was Buck! He was the only dog who fit list, but that didn’t matter. We were each other’s before they opened his kennel. For his unknown hardships he was as he always would be happy, smiley, silly, chill. ๐Ÿ™‚ My beautiful boy.

92E630FC-AF89-4187-A793-360A49C3956A
I took this photo is first day home. He’s so thin! THAT didn’t last long. My dad would take his to Taco Bell and McDonald’s for drive-thru when I was out!

 

 

About a week later he came home to me! Sad/funny story: He was new to this indoor pampered livin’ -even though he was somehow housebroken! Just all on his own! I just had to show his where.- so he didn’t know what the heck he was suppose to do with stairs! It took a few times crawling up on all fours for him to catch on. But…I didn’t think he did know going down stairs was different. *blush! So he took a stumble down a small flight of carpeted stairs before giving me a “What the pup was that??Did you see these crazy things?!” What a trooper. We had a down the stairs lesson, but he had figured out some of it. ๐Ÿ˜‰

928E3598-F20D-4F4B-B9B2-4D4E760393E6
Christmas 2012

 

Buck loved to chew, chew, chew! It was his energy release. He tore through sooo many shoes, hats, and even the whole left side of a recliner(!) while he was settling in.. Nylabone was made just for him you’d think! Being a beagle and a stray he was insane about food. If he smelled it- he needed it. Chicken was his favorite food. We bumped along as besties for two years before Chris came in to our lives. Buck nearly attacked Chris the first time! He doesn’t think that’s endearing, but I do. ๐Ÿ˜‰ They made up pretty soon when Chris got to feed Buck his Thanksgiving feast for that year. After we were married I became a stay at home wife and got to spend much more time with Buck and our cats Bagheera and Tigger.

25F0D78F-006F-4B50-BE88-4C6C1F3ACC37

 

I spent my days doing whatever I needed and Buck was always at my heels. I never lacked for company. ๐Ÿ™‚ As I became sick in 2009 his company meant ever more to me. He was the perfect shoulder to cry on. We spent hundreds of days in bed together. In about 2011, my buddy boy got sick too and things looked bad. He almost had to have his gallbladder out, but he rallied. To the vets happy surprise, Buck came around to his normal healthy self. We had a wonderful two years together before he finally did cross the Rainbow Bridge. His passing was a sudden, unexpected, and traumatic so I will leave his story about his sweet face and happy smile instead.

IMG_6559
My Beautiful Boy! My Heart!

Buck, I miss you every time my heart beats. God it still hurts! But, that’s only a reflection of how much I love you. So the pain is just fine with me. I know it was your time to go home. I take joy in the fact that proof of the size of your heart our home now has two crazy beagles in our family. It was Lana’s time and she needed a home real bad. You knew just what that meant. See you in Heaven, Buddy Boy.

Buck’s passing lead me down the path of local beagle rescue groups, to learning about the Beagle Freedom Project, and a desire to live a cruelty free live. He made a home for two more sweet beagle babies and broke my heart for oppressed and abused animals around the world. THAT is aย big,ย proud legacy.ย ย Especially for a such a silly pup. ๐Ÿ™‚

B4D8660D-D41F-4452-A9BA-56492418CE02
Well, what can I say? This photo is exactly what it looks like…

Love & Puppy Kisses!

Leave a Reply

