Dupe This! Blemish Drying Lotion-Magical Pink Potion?

*The ingredients in the tutorial were purchased before we became more consistently cruelty free. Because I cannot guarantee their cruelty status I will not give them advertising with details and photos. But, you can purchase all the items at most drugstores or big box stores. I’m hopeful I CAN source cruelty free ingredients when I need to make a new batch and share that information. 🙂 Okay, on to the fun!

We all know even the most well cared for complexion can break out for no apparent -or unavoidable- reason! I think the most frustrating are the variety that just hide under your skin making it red and sore for days seemingly doing nothing but frustrating you! With my fair skin the redress is so visible and takes forever to fade. It’s SOO tempting to force the issue and go after it yourself. But! I’ve got another answer for you- blemish drying lotion! A popular commercial version is Mario Badescu’s Drying Lotion.  Their suppose to be  miracle workers. It’s an overnight spot treatment that has very targeted ingredients to dry up the oils in your skin and soothe the general angriness. You’re not going to wake up to perfectly clear skin, but the blemish should have shrunk, become less visible, and heal several days faster. You should be able to keep it from breaking the skin many cases too. I swear by it! I use it on any blemish every night -or whenever I’m just hanging around the house- until it’s almost gone. I find I can usually cut 2-3 days off it’s annoying life cycle. I love it!

You can BUY it at premium stores at a premiums $17/ 1 oz. price. Nice. Not cruelty free and really really not drugstore!

drying lotion ulta listing

I think we can have a crack at making it. This recipe isn’t an ingredient- for- ingredient dupe, but maybe that is a good thing. First issue, the second ingredient IS alcohol. Yes, it does somewhat sanitizes the solution and your skin, but it’s also harsh on the skin. I know this product is called a DRYING lotion, but do we need to totally stress out already irritated skin? Another ingredient is salicylic acid. SA is drying but it a really one of the two OTC acne fighters available to the average person. It’s what my favorite Yes To Tomatoes acne line uses as it’s lynch pin. However, commercially purchasing cruelty free SA is really difficult and not in a drugstore price point. We can get around this by using a cruelty free SA spot treatment. I recommend YTT, but I’ve read good things about Alba Botanica’s Acnedote line of products. I have seen them at Target, Walmart, and Whole Foods.

So off to Pinterest I went to check out my drugstore DIY option. Pinterest being Pinterest gave me millions of options! In the end I found the one I thought would be awesome from PopSugar. Check the link for a tutorial video! Here’s the “recipe”!

IMG_5534
Tears and Angry faces for the breakout! Drying lotion to the rescue!

 

PopSugar’s DIY Overnight Blemish Zapper

maxresdefault

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 parts tea tree oil or astringent
  • 1 part water
  • Calamine lotion
  • 2-3 inch container

DIRECTIONS

Mix one part water with two parts of tea tree oil or astringent. From here, using a dropper, fill your bottle 1/3 of the way full with calamine lotion. Then fill the rest of the bottle with your water/tea tree oil mixture. Let the calamine lotion settle at the bottom of the bottle so it separates from the oil mixture, then use a cotton swab to dip into the bottle, absorbing both the liquid and the calamine lotion.

Let sit on your blemish overnight and wash off in the morning. Protect your skin with moisturizer.
*****

How was that? Cool, right? And now you have yourself a $17 bottle of awesome! If you don’t want to sport cute little pink dots give clear calamine a try. (Amazon $5.82, Walgreens $5.99, Walmart $5.82)

I’d LOVE to hear if you’ve tried this before! What was your experience?

Love and puppy kisses!

dogs photo by chris

Leave a Reply

