Not Your Mother’s… hair?

Unlike the pups, I can’t just get the occasional hose down at the park to have fab hair! Recently I’ve found a crazy good hair care line- Your Mother’s has been an awesome discovery and is becoming a holy grail product(s) for me. I have naturally curly -more curly than wavy- but always needs some help in sticking to those curls or waves. My hair has another issue we’ll need to go ahead (ha) and address now- my balding.

You will see in the photos what I mean. A combo of illness and medication side effect caused me to lose a tremendous amount of my hair almost five years ago. While I am no longer ACTIVELY losing my hair, it’s very fine and delicate and has to be babied. Until recently my feelings towards hair care was condition and leave alone! But, I am learning -given the right precautions- my hair isn’t a baby bird and I can style it and have some fun with it too. You’ll see. 🙂

But! I love the hair I have! I’ve always felt special to be a redhead maybe because 3/4 of my girl cousins are! It’s taken a long time for me to learn to help my curls blossom and even more recently to wield my straight iron with confidence. But, on to products! I have inserted a screenshot of pricing from Walmart, however they have a slim IN STORE selection. Check Target. Their prices are nearly identical. Ulta has a selection, but… yeah.

***I’m working on a proper background to take actual photos. Bare with me…***

Let’s start with the dry shampoos! A Spoonie staple! I use dry shampoo nearly between wash days. Lucking into TWO great ones is crazy lucky.

 

Not Your Mother’s Clean Freak Tapioca Dry Shampoo
This little guy is the FIRST dry to make my hair feel clean, but just look clean. The tapioca replaces any talc or powders removing any white cast. It’s much more lightweight so it doesn’t leave crunchiness or stiffness behind. This is truly touchable clean. It comes in either unscented and warm vanilla. Can you guess which one I got? Ha.  It’s smells amazing, but it’s not going to fight with your perfume or hand around the rest of your day.

Not Your Mother’s Beach Babe Texturizing Dry Shampoo
Any day I want to actually style my hair I apply a dose of texturizing spray. It even makes my ponytail full and bouncier! For “cleaning”- I stick to Clean Freak. For awesome “getting out of the house” style worth hair -I use Beach Babe.

Not Your Mother’s Beach Babe Soft Waves Sea Salt Spray
Let’s just stay at the beach, okay? I haven’t played around with this spray on it’s OWN much, but it does play very well with others. I mist my hair when I do not plan on giving my hair any heat treatments and it really helps the loose naturally wavy curl take hold as it air dries. Another product that smells amazing- dreamy coconut.

Not Your Mother’s Kinky Moves Curl Defining Hair Cream
This little guy has become the center of my styling routine. 🙂 I get out of the shower, spritz in some leave in conditioner, and run a good amount of hair cream through my quiet damp hair. If I am air drying, that is usually it for the day. If I want bouncy curly I apply heat protectant and finger diffuse on low/warm w. cool shot.

*Quick aside: With my chronic pain laying down a lot it a given. Well, curls don’t like getting squished even in a ponytail or bun. Sooo that means I have to re-wet my hair every morning, restyle, and hope for the best. If my hair is straight it fairs a lot better. Honestly at this point it’s easy for me to straighten it out then babysit curls. Besides, I’m digging the sleek look lately. :p 

So, what I am doing most often is using the flat iron. I’m careful to heat process smart. I keep it to 3-4 days apart, heat at 360 degrees, blow dry on low/warm, and use a hair BB cream and thermal protectant before, and another dose of bb cream after. I find using the curl cream give my hair so much more volume after styling and holds on to the style easier. I love this stuff! One complaint- it smells like fake grape flavoring- a lot. It’s lucky it works well or I’d chuck it. Darn.

Curly and straight Styling
Yes, I am constantly listening to music! 😀

*My bb cream and thermal protectant are drugstore, but sadly not cruelty free so I chose not to give them advertising. Here are when I am in the works of purchasing. NYM Beat the Heat Thermal Shield heat protectant and Pacifica’s Best Day Ever bb cream. I also want to get my hand of NYM Smoot Moves Frizz Control Hair Cream to compare to the curl cream and NYM Past Curfew Unscented Hairspray. I can’t source these locally so Amazon it is! You know I’ll give them a review!

Have you tried any of NYM’s products? What is your go to cruelty free drugstore hair care items? How’s your dog doing? What do you think about Daylight Savings? Dumb huh? Leave me a comment!

Love & Puppy Kisses

 

 

Leave a Reply

