Product Review: FAIL!

Hand-me-Down from Mom
Okay, sounds pretty good!
Hey! The Leaping Bunny!
 

They say never look a gift horse in the mouth. However- if that horse is completely awful I think it’s okay. Yesterday Chris & I visited my parents and my mom gifted/hand me down-ed me a cool tube of Burt’s Bees Honey & Grapeseed Hand Cream. (2.6 oz @ Walgreens $10.49) I was telling her I am in the market for a new cruelty free hand cream. 

This cream will NOT be it! First, it just felt weird-like watery and waxy at the same time. It did soak in and dry pretty quickly so at least that was a positive. But, when it did soak in, it didn’t have that nourishing HAND cream feel. It felt like kinda okay body lotion. IMO hand & foot cream should be richer and thicker than other lotions. I’m even willing to accept a bit of greasiness for a few minutes to get really hydrated hands.

All those reasons pale in comparison to why this hand cream is a fail! Omg the smell! The smell!!! It was terrible and won’t go away! One review said it spells like nursing homes and they are right. The mix of fakey honey and beeswax mixed with grapeseed and rosemary gives it a sickly sweet, dead flower, and old lady bath powder aroma! Bleck!

I could hardly even wash the scent off! I even used STRAIGHT Dr Bronner’s soap and a few drops of beautifully scented argan oil. I could still smell it in my hands, but I diluted it enough so it wasn’t going to gag me! PS- Chris was on board with all my opinions on this product. So bee-ware! (hehe) IMO says away from this. I’m going to give Yes to Coconuts Hand & Cuticle Cream (3 oz @ Target $5.99)  a try next! 

Can’t wait to give it a try!

Target says: ” A non-greasy yet super moisturizing hand and cuticle skin protectant cream.

This hand and cuticle saver, helps to smooth and restore dry, cracked and chapped skin. Formulated with Virgin Coconut Oil, which is rich in Vitamins A, C and E and provides nutrients that keep hands and cuticles protected. Keep one at your desk and another in your purse… to keep those hands soft (you never know when you’ll be hand-holding!)

β€’97% Natural

 β€’Petroleum, SLS, & Paraben Free

Health Facts: Sulfate-free, Phthalate-free, contains coconut milk, lanolin-free, Talcum-free, contains vitamin E, Contains Almond Oil, dye-free, mineral oil-free, Petroleum-free, labeled paraben-free, sodium lauryl sulfate-free, DMDM Hydantoin-free, aluminum chlorohydrate-free, contains coconut”

So, have you tried either of these products? What was your expert? Remember just because a product didn’t work for me doesn’t mean you should stop loving it yourself! 

πŸ’œLove & Puppy Kisses! 🐢

One comment

  1. You should try Rocky Mountain Soap Company. They have a hand Cream that is amazing and they have a variety of scents so you can find your favorite πŸ˜†
    They have a variety of other products as well. A small Canadian Company that never tests on animals. If you Google them you will find their website, not sure what shipping is to the US but it’s free in Canada!

    Like

Leave a Reply

